Author Archives: violetprose

About violetprose

Writing pulls me out of myself and into a world of color. It soothes, encourages, and inspires, among other perfections. I use it to love, work, and play. I hope it becomes a legacy.

Great Loves in Chimimanda Ngozi Adichie’s “Americanah”

“The first summer was Ifemelu’s summer of waiting; the real America, she felt, was just around the next corner she would turn. Even the days, sliding one into the other, languorous and limpid, the sun lingering until very late, seemed … Continue reading

Aside | Posted on | Leave a comment

Dancing and Designing In Hugo’s France

Discipline and wonder, though sometimes perceived quite distant from each other, pair up so well. To obtain the steady hand of making something routine it takes pushing through many small, annoyed exercises and dancing into and past frustration. Wonder automatically … Continue reading

Aside | Posted on | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

New Reviews After These Messages

  I sit peacefully alone in the cozy, ever-welcoming living room of two friends and their son. There are beautiful, rich brown curtains that graze the floor, walls and a lively tree-and-bird mural in panoramic view. An elaborate family tree, … Continue reading

Aside | Posted on | Leave a comment

Stories in Our Childhood: Review of “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” by Neil Gaiman

At eight years old, reclining blissfully on a couch made for reading marathons, I let the world dissolve into the hair-raising plot twists of Alvin Schwartz’s More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. It was forbidden, tucked away firmly … Continue reading

Aside | Posted on | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Book and Show Review Intermission:A Window into Worship

Conversations with family and friends are a reminder that our society has taken the self-obsessed narrative and applied it to church. They just don’t offer anything I want anymore. The church has an unrelated, outdated heart. People there are jerks … Continue reading

Aside | Posted on | Leave a comment

Dragging Out A Life: Review of “Possession” by A.S. Byatt

There was such a peace in deciding to bring our old blue, unloved blanket to a coffee shop for reading and hot beverages only. Just the giant book that asks for finishing, the teal knitted blanket, and a to-go cup … Continue reading

Aside | Posted on | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Machine Ballet: Review of “Eureka Seven”

Fans of Pacific Rim, The Terminator series,  or Transformers may find an interest in mecha anime, if Japanese animation doesn’t frighten, deter, or just not stimulate their artist’s heart. To each his or her own. These movies’ common denominator is the involvement of fighting … Continue reading

Posted in Zombies and Winning Love By Daylight | Leave a comment